Nevada Commission on Ethics
Nevada’s Financial Disclosure Law
NRS 281.559; NRS 281.561; NRS 281.571; NRS 281.574; NRS 281.581
Disclose potential conflicts of interest
Elected public officers, candidates for public office who will be entitled to receive annual compensation of $6,000 or more if elected, and appointed public officers who are entitled to receive annual compensation of $6,000 or more for serving in the office in question must file a Financial Disclosure Statement.
NRS 281.571 defines the information required to be disclosed. The Financial Disclosure Statement form is available from the Commission’s office and on the forms page of its website (http://ethics.nv.gov).
Candidate for public office:Within 10 days after the last day to qualify for the ballot
Initial appointment to public office: Within 30 days after initial appointment to office
Election to office: On the January 15 after your election to office
Annual filing date: No later than January 15 of each year for all elected and appointed public officers who are required to file the financial disclosure statement
All Financial Disclosure Statements must be timely
Financial Disclosure Statements are public record and are retained for 6 years from date of filing.
If you are serving in more than one office for which you are required
to file a Financial Disclosure Statement, you may use one form for all
offices held. However, if you hold both elective and appointive offices,
you should file the form with both the Commission on Ethics and the
What Must Be Disclosed
Length of residence in Nevada and district registered to vote
For you and each member of your household 18 years of age and over:
“Member of household” includes:
“Business entity” means any organization or enterprise operated for economic gain
IMPORTANT: Refer to NRS 281.559; NRS 281.561; NRS 281.571; NRS 281.574; NRS 281.581 for specific requirements.
A candidate for public office or public officer who fails to timely file a Financial Disclosure Statement is subject to a civil penalty and payment of court costs and attorneys fees. Enforcement is the responsibility of the Secretary of State Elections Division.
The civil penalties for late filing are:
The Secretary of State may, for good cause, waive the civil penalty.
A request for waiver must be in writing and is a public record.
Commission on Ethics staff are available to conduct training on Nevada’s financial disclosure law and ethics laws for state, county and local government officers, employees, boards, and commissions. Contact the Commission office to arrange training.
Nevada Commission on Ethics
|3476 Executive Pointe Way, Suite 10|
|Carson City, NV 89706|
|Phone: 775-687-5469 • Fax: 775-687-1279|
|E-mail: Ethics Commission|